Characteristic of a diamond

The GIA 4 diamond quality are : Diamond Color, Diamond Clarity, Diamond Cut and Diamond Carat

  1. Diamond Color

The principal Diamond Color is equivalent to the absence of color.

The diamonds color range are:

  • Colorless (D – F)
  • Near Colorless (G – J)
  • Faint Yellow (K – M)
  • Faint Light Yellow (N – R)
  • Light Yellow (S – Z) 

White, red, pink, blue, and green diamonds are very rare diamond types and valuable


  1. Diamond Clarity

Diamond Clarity refers to a diamond's internal internal ‘inclusions,’ and external ‘blemishes.’ Those imperfection are in general noticed only with a microscope.

The GIA Diamond Clarity Scale has 6 categories, some of which are divided, for a total of 11 specific grades:





Flawless (FL) 



Under 10 magnification

Internally Flawless (IF) 



Under 10 magnification

Very, Very Slightly Included (VVS1 and VVS2) 



Under 10 magnification

Very Slightly Included (VS1 and VS2) 



Under 10 magnification

Slightly Included (SI1 and SI2) 



Under 10 magnification

Included (I1I2, and I3) 



Under 10 magnification


  1. Diamond Cut

Diamond Cut refers to the proportion and arrangement of its facets and the quality of workmanship. The amount of brilliance of a diamond is settled by his cut

There are a wide variety of diamond shapes to choose.

The 10 most common diamond shapes are Round Brilliant, Emerald Cut, Cushion, Oval, Heart, Radiant,Emerald, Marquise, Princess, Pears and Asscher (Square).

  1. Diamond Carat

Diamond Carat designates the diamond’s weight. Size is one of the most visible characteristic that determines the value of all diamonds.. The price of the diamond rises depending on its size.

1 carat is 200 milligram. The carat is subdivided into "points". There are 100 points in a single carat : 1 carat = 200 milligrams = 100 points.

Carat weight is not referring to the diamond quality.